The Cinematologists (2015-)

Podcast, Sound Mixing, Sound Recording

The Cinematologists podcast discusses cinema. Porth Sound recorded the earliest episodes and have remained supporters of the podcast ever since.

Formed in early 2015 by film scholars Dario Llinares and Neil Fox, The Cinematologists is a podcast and film club. It aims to bring fans, filmmakers, critics and academics together to watch, discuss and engage with cinema of all forms, genres and eras.

The podcast is often based on a live event film screening. Contributions from the hosts and audience members are recorded and edited together with related interviews and contextual chat from Neil and Dario. There are also long form interview episodes with academics and filmmakers. Cornwall Branch screenings take place at the School of Film & Television at Falmouth Universitythe Filmhouse in Newlyn or The Poly in Falmouth. The Hastings Branch screenings are held at the Electric Palace in Hastings and the Kino in St. Leonard’s On Sea.

Since inception, the podcast has featured interviews with a diverse and exciting range of filmmakers, academics, writers and critics. It has developed partnerships with the likes of MUBI, Curzon and Club Des Femmes.

At time of writing the podcast is entering its 7th season having just reached episode number 60.

THANKS – The podcast would not have been or continue to be possible without the help and support of the following people:

Kingsley Marshall, Mark Jenkin, Phylly Bluemel (designer of our brilliant logo and branding images), James Dean, Verena Von Eicken, Laura Canning, James Chatwin, Marcus Thorn, ‘Magic’ Mike Tibbins, Alex Fitch, Emre Caglayhan, Melody Bridges, Abbie Jarvis, Daisy Papworth, James Calver, Edward Tollefson, Douglas McNoughton, Rebecca Marshall, James Maitre, Adam Gunton, Michael Lambe, Rachael Jones, Mark Kermode, Linda Ruth Williams, Claire Stevens, Line Vangen, Richard Butler, Alastair Till, Suzie Sinclair, Violet Lucca, Victoria Byard, Sophie Mayer, Irene Musemeci, John Atkinson, Colin Midson, Kate Hickey, Ren Zelen, Christina Newland, Charlotte Crofts, Kieran Evans, Rachael Jones, Irene Musemeci, Kiri Inglis, Sophie Mayer and many more…